Posted by: oikosasa | March 3, 2014

Welcome Martijn Bezemer, new SE

We’re very happy to welcome Dr Martijn Bezemer, NIOO-KNAW, the Netherlands to our editorial board.

Bezemer martijnMartijn, what’s your main research focus at the moment?
My main research focus is on aboveground-belowground interactions. I study how (i) soil biota (ii) manipulations of the soil community, and (iii) soil mediated effects of neighbouring plants affect the nutritional quality of focal plants and the aboveground plant-insect interactions on those focal plants. Further, I study the role of soil organisms in restoration of grasslands on former arable land. Much of this work is carried out in the field.

Can you describe you research career?

My MSc was in Crop Protection in Wageningen, The Netherlands. I started my carreer at Imperial College at Silwood park, where I studied the effects of elevated CO2 and elevated temperature on plants, insects and parasitoids in model ecosystems in the ecotron controlled environment facility. This was from 1995 to 1999. From 1999 to 2000 I went to UC Berkeley for a post-doc. Here I studied biological control of codling moth in walnut orchards using introduced parasitoids. In nov 2000 I moved back to the Netherlands for a post doc at the Netherlands Institute of Ecology (NIOO). I first studied the effects of root herbivory by wireworms on aboveground plant-insect interactions in cotton and then worked on the effects of aboveground and belowground multitrophic interactions on plant diversity and succession. In 2004 I moved to Wageningen University but continued working on linking aboveground and belowground diversity. In 2008 I am moved back to the NIOO, and I have a position as senior scientist.

Bezemer field

How come that you became a scientist in ecology?

During my MSc I focused agronomy. My stay at Silwood Park made me an ecologist.

What do you do when you’re not working?

I like to play guitar, read literature and DIY type activities in our house

Leave a Reply

Categories

