Posted by: Jeremy Fox | September 30, 2011

I am seeking postdoc applicants

I am seeking applicants for the Killam postdoctoral fellowship. This is a competitive, 2-year postdoc awarded by the University of Calgary in any academic discipline. The award provides a salary of $45,000 CAD/year, health benefits, and a research/relocation allowance of $6000.

The awardee would be expected to develop their own independent research on some topic of mutual interest to themselves and their faculty mentor (that would be me). I welcome applicants interested in pursuing fundamental research in any area of population, community, or evolutionary ecology. I am particularly interested in applicants who want to collaborate with David Vasseur (Yale University) and I on theoretical and/or empirical research on spatial synchrony, but my interests are by no means limited to this topic.  Someone working on theory and data in eco-evolutionary dynamics would be fun, too.

To be eligible, you must have completed your PhD after Sept. 1, 2009, or else anticipate completion by Sept. 1, 2012 (the latter date is the latest date the position could start).

Application deadline is Dec. 15, 2011. The application needs to include a research proposal; prospective applicants should contact me well in advance to discuss this (jefox@ucalgary.ca).

For more on the Killam postdoc, go here.

For more on my lab, go here.

Responses

  1. […] concrete benefits. For instance, this year I attracted many more really strong applicants for the Killam postdoc than I ever have before, and I have good reason to believe that’s not just random chance or a […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

