Posted by: Jeremy Fox | July 28, 2011

Tweeting the ESA meeting

I won’t be (I’ll probably blog it). But if you will be, I just got an email indicating that the hashtag for the meeting is #ESA11.

And because the meeting theme is “Earth stewardship”, the ESA is bribing people to tweet about that topic using the hashtag #earthsteward. If you do this, you’re automatically entered in a random draw for a daily prize (which you must be present at the meeting to collect). Winners will be announced on ESA’s twitter feed.

I’m all for Earth stewardship, but I have to admit that, because of my time in Britain, the word “steward” has rather different connotations for me than the ESA probably intended. I wonder, are “Earth stewards” more like airline stewards? Or football stewards?

Leave a Reply

Categories

